Beauty Benefits of Coconut Oil


I use coconut oil daily. It is easily one of the most versatile products that I can’t live without. I usually use it to cook with, but there are so many other uses! I keep one jar in my kitchen and one in my bedroom.
Holistic Tip #1: always buy unrefined, organic, virgin coconut oil. Any large supermarket should have it!

  1. No lotion? No problem!
    • the medium chain fatty acids act as a natural skin conditioner
    • I use coconut oil after a shower instead of lotion
    • most lotions have harmful parabens, synthetic colors, unnecessary fragrances, and other toxic ingredients. Why put that on your body?
  2. Dry hair Remedy
    • this type of oil works as a great hair conditioner
    • I usually apply a small amount to the ends of my hair after a shower while its still damp
    • it can also be used as a deep conditioner; I take a couple tablespoons of coconut oil, Moroccan oil and ripe avocado and mush it on my scalp for an hour before rinsing.
  3. Out of makeup removing wipes?
    • coconut oil can be a great substitute for any makeup remover
    • it is especially useful when removing waterproof mascara
    • I put a small amount on a cotton pad and gently rub it on my eyes and rinse
    • this is great if you have dry or sensitive skin
    • if you have oily skin or are prone to breakouts, don’t worry! It won’t leave your face feeling greasy
  4. Sun protector
    • coconut oil provides some sun protection
    • many sunscreens have toxic, cancer causing chemicals. Try reading the ingredients list! You’ll be surprised by  how many you can’t pronounce.
    • it protects against environmental and free radical damage
  5. Oil pulling
    • it may sound crazy, but swishing 1 tablespoon of coconut oil in your mouth for 20 minutes has infinite oral benefits
    • it is a natural, holistic way to reduce harmful bacteria in your mouth and improve gum health
    • oil pulling (especially with coconut oil) helps detoxify the body, reduce inflammation, whitens teeth and improves breath
    • make sure to brush your teeth afterwards 🙂
One thought on “Beauty Benefits of Coconut Oil

Leave a Reply

